Bigfoot Stories #2: The BC Journal

Day 16: We camped out by the river where we set our kayaks. Farrow insists we’re still three days from the deposit he found and that no one has yet laid claim to it. Newman disagrees and I in turn agree with Newman. The tracks we found are distinctly human, if barefoot and oversized. I am forced to admit my growing suspicions. Farrow, while reliable, seems too nervous to stray far from the camp. I fear Indians have laid their claim to this land and are willing to defend it in their own ways and that Farrow is aware of this.

Day 18: We’ve had to abandon the kayaks. Farrow insists that the gold deposit lies in land three days hike west of the river. He is acting very queer as of late. He has taken to sleeping with his rifle, loaded and prepared to fire and with barely an eye shut. I have known this man my whole life and yet rarely have I seen him act this way, even around the savage Indians of Arizona. His fear is contagious.

Day 21: Farrow was right! The gold deposit is here, untouched and unclaimed. Newman took a look at it not twenty minutes ago and determined it was of enough quality and quantity to make all three of us rich men. Tomorrow we begin building the cabin. I’ll have to send word off to Richter and his two brothers. We’ll need their strength and the extra kayaks.

Day 25: I sent Newman off two days ago. Farrow and I have been keeping busy building the cabin out of the wood around us. He’s still fearful, but has calmed down in the last few days. I doubt we can rely on him for a second expedition here should we need it.

Day 26: The night has been difficult. Strange howls have seen to keep me and Farrow up until the sun rose. After breakfast we both decided to do a bit of hunting, partly to resupply ourselves with meat and hide and partly to see if any sign could tell us what was making those awful sounds. We caught a deer, but no sign of the cause of the dreaded howls. I asked Farrow about it but he wouldn’t say a word on it.

Day 30: It’s been a week since Newman was sent off to fetch the others. They should be here in the next two days. We’ve had more of those strange howls. More human tracks as well. Two nights ago, something wandered into camp and attacked the cabin. Farrow fled in the morning and I haven’t seen him since. Last night I was again kept up by the howls. They seem to be getting closer. I’m scared.

Day 32: Newman arrived yesterday, but with news on Farrow. He never made it to the kayaks. They found him not thirty feet away, his body broken in innumerable ways. No animal known to man killed him. Still, I feel safer with four armed friends by my side. Last night was the first night without howls since the first.

Day 40: Newman is dead. They got him, those beasts. Took him in the night as they attacked the cabin. Richter took one of his brothers and found him an hour ago. I got a good look at one of them. The beast looks like a man crossed with the ape-men of Africa, whose stories I am fully aware of. We have enough gold now to cover our costs and to pay the families of the two dead. But Richter and the others want their fortune and I too am inclined to stay. I fear my curiosity will be the end of me.

Day 45: I am the last one. Richter and his brothers are dead. They’re here. These ape-men. I have barricaded myself in the cabin and am prepared to take them with me if the lord sees fit to allow me. If I survive till morning then I will rid myself of this place and return home. My darling wife, how I long for the return of your warmth. I lo…

Day 50: I… survived. Barely. The kayak has been drifting for the last few hours. I haven’t dared set foot on land since fleeing the cabin. They’re following me on land. They’re moving at such speeds it’s hard to believe they’re natural. They have a bit of the devil in them. At least they can’t swim.

Day 61: I am to return to the cabin, this time with a sizeable force of men. I reached the small town where we originally set off from and immediately told the authorities. The father of Richter and his brothers wishes to retrieve their bodies and I agreed to lead him and fourteen others to do just that. I’m sending this journal back to my wife in London, in case I don’t return.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started